Flashback to Egypt – SBC4

As some of you may know, I spent my grade 7 year traveling around the world, and now that I’m a little bit older, I kind of want to know how I would interpret some of my most memorable experiences. I wonder if I compared my past thoughts to my present thoughts if they’d be any different. I’d like to tell you now about one of my funniest experiences (or what I now think is funny, I may have thought differently at the time). It is also one of my worst experiences, but now that I look back, it is hilarious. It is a story about my experiences in a hostel in Egypt. If you’d like to see how I wrote about this when it happened, check out my travel blog. The link is in my “About Me” page. This is how I think about it now.

We had just returned from Luxor, Egypt and now we’re staying at a hostel in Cairo. Right off the bat, I have to say that this place should not have been here. It should have been condemned by the government. To get to your room, you have to walk down this sketch hallway to a closet. Once you reached the closet, you had two options. You could take the stairs, that had a dip in every step and wires hanging over your head, or you get inside the closet. Why get into a closet? It was an elevator. No walls around it or anything! No safety precautions what-so-ever. Only a thin wire that pulls the closet up. You’re practically dangling there as you go up cause there is no support! Anyway, enough about the entrance. The really fun part is when we got to our room.

Our room was on the third floor and had a very musty smell. There were bars on the windows and the only source of light was a tiny lightbulb, dangling from the ceiling by a chain. The beds smelled weird, and I was scared to remove the sheets to see what might be growing under it. The pillows also smelled weird, and we found the reason why was there was mold growing on it! No wonder we slept on towels that night. There was a bathroom (thank goodness!), but it was smaller than the hanging closet we took to get up there! The shower only had cold water, and it was two feet by two feet! The toilette was right beside it, and I’m not even kidding when I say that it was so close, you could go to the bathroom and shower at the same time! Also, you may ask, how do I know the dimensions of the bathroom? Quite simple. I measured it, but you know somethings up when you can easily measure the bathroom with a footlong ruler. 

The worst part was there was a carpet in the middle of the room. It was bad enough that every time you took a step the floorboards would fluctuate and creak, but under the carpet, there were places there were no floorboards at all! You could see through the floor all the way to the first! No wonder I didn’t sleep easy that night. My bed was moldy and I was worried I’d fall asleep on the third floor and wake up on the first! I did survive though. Maybe because the floorboards held up, or maybe because God felt bad for me and decided he didn’t want me in his kingdom yet. I’m not sure, but either way, I’m still alive to tell the tale!

So that’s it. That is my interpretation of what happened that day. I need to compare it to my old post. Maybe I will post another later, but for now, that’s all! I’d also love to hear about your own bad yet funny experiences! If your willing to share, please tell me! I love when other people have stories to tell!

181 thoughts on “Flashback to Egypt – SBC4

  1. G’day Caleb,
    I would not have coped living in a hostel like that for even one night. I’m afraid I like to be in hotels or motels a bit more up market than your hostel. Mould, though, can be found in many motel rooms as well.

      • All I did in seventh grade was travel. Always on the move. I ended up visiting 23 countries! Here’s the list: China, Laos, Thailand, Indonesia, Australia, Nepal, India, Egypt, Kenya, Tanzania, Spain, Luxembourg, Austria, Germany, France, Switzerland, Italy, Vatican, Belgium, Netherlands, Peru, Ecuador, and the USA. Ironically, my trip was the first time I’ve been out of the continent!

    • I ended up visiting 23 countries! Here’s the list: China, Laos, Thailand, Indonesia, Australia, Nepal, India, Egypt, Kenya, Tanzania, Spain, Luxembourg, Austria, Germany, France, Switzerland, Italy, Vatican, Belgium, Netherlands, Peru, Ecuador, and the USA. Ironically, my trip was the first time I’ve been out of the continent!

    • Hi Caleb!
      This is a funny, and interesting story. Miles is right you are super descriptive about this story, so much so you almost made me puke, especially with all the mold;)I am glad you survived because I don’t think I would be able to survive the environment in the hostel even for 5 minutes. I would be outside sitting on the curb with a blanket. With you traveling so much I was wondering what school you went to.

      I don’t have cool stories like you, but I would like you to check out my blog at : http://cheridendgms24.edublogs.org/

      • My parents are teachers, so I was homeschooled, but only in mathematics. The rest of the subjects came out of traveling. If you’d like to know more, the link to my travel blog is on my “About Me” page! Also, I will check out your blog! Sounds interesting!

    • Glad to hear you enjoyed it! and oh boy. Your question could have a long answer. To make it short, I visited 23 countries on my trip, but if I tell you about my experiences, this reply could take forever! If you’re really interested, there is a link to my travel blog in my “About Me” page. Feel free to check it out if you’d like!

  2. That was a really good Blog Caleb. I would have nightmare’s in that hotel. Do you like Magic if you do then you should post a blog about Magic.

    • Our goal when we were traveling was not to be on vacation but to open our eyes and broaden our perspective on the world. To get a thorough experience, we had to visit some of the most different places from home, like Egypt. The reason we stayed in the hostel though was that Air B&B made it look like a normal hotel, not a shack!

    • I felt like I was going to die, but I only had to stay there for three nights! If you’re interested, the link to my travel blog is on my “About Me” page if you want to know more!

  3. Hi Caleb,
    Wow what an amazing story! You got to travel your whole 7th year? I wish I could travel that much, see the world. That was quite an experience, reminds me of a dream I had. We were on vacation, and we got a horrible room. Glad it was a dream, but it was nothing like your experience. It seemed fun though, and it’ great to have memories like that.
    Sincerely,
    Gaurvi K
    My URL: http://gaurvi26.edublogs.org/

  4. Dear Caleb,
    If that were me staying in that hotel I would have asked for my money back and went to a better hotel!Where else did you go during 7th grade and how did you parents react to the terrible hotel?

    Sincerely,
    Anwar

    • In total, I visited 23 countries on my trip. If I tell you all about my experiences now, this reply could take forever so if you’re interested, the link to my travel blog is on my “About Me” page!

    • We stayed there cause Air B&B pranked us! The pics made it look like a normal hotel. We learned a lesson that day though. The internet can fool you well!

    • The worst part was that the locals were surprised that we had the nerve to stay there! You know that when the locals fear for you, something’s up!

  5. This reminds me of the time my mom came to to Kentucky and spent the night in a hotel and we stad with her it had these stares that were pinch black

    • I visited 23 countries on my trip! If I told you about all my experiences now this reply would take forever, so if you’re interested, the link to my travel blog is on my “About Me” page!

  6. Dear Caleb,
    I would not be able to have the bravery to sleep in such a scary hotel like the one you stayed in. It takes a lot of bravery and courage to get through something like that, but you had it and that is something that you should be proud of. One experience that I have had that I now think is funny was when I went to a haunted house and I almost got lost because something scared me and I started running around. At the time, I did not think that was very funny, but now I get to look back at it and it was a very funny memory.

    Sincerely,
    Diego

  7. Dear Caleb,
    Congratulations on lasting there because I don’t think I would have been able to! How did you last there? I´m guessing your really tough and didn’t let any of that bother you or you had just ignored it. Am I right or wrong or did something else keep you lasting the night? I would really love to know.

    Sincerely,
    Maria

    Come check out my blog!
    https://goo.gl/rxAJp5

    • Honestly, I barely made it through! I guess I survived by not thinking about it too much while I was there. Also, I think knowing that I am not that heavy made me feel more comfortable cause then I wouldn’t fall through the floor!

  8. Dear Caleb,
    I find it really cool that you have been to Egypt. I have actually never been anywhere else which really sucks because I would love to travel around the world. I would also like to know how many days you stayed at the hotel and what your family thought about it.
    Sincerely, Morelia

    • I can’t exactly remember how many days I stayed at the hostel, but I think it was three. And travel is really cool so I hope you get a chance to have that experience! Where would be your first destination if you could choose anywhere?

    • I can’t exactly remember how many days I stayed at the hostel, but I think it was three. And travel is really cool so I hope you get a chance to have that experience! Where would be your first destination if you could choose anywhere?

  9. Dear Caleb,
    I have no clue how you actually fell asleep. I would have stayed awake all night and kept whoever that was with me awake too. One time I was staying in a hotel because I play competitive soccer and I was playing in a tournament Saturday and Sunday. I was sitting in my hotel room after I went to the pool with my teammates and I went back up to my room. I sat down for a while and it felt like right after I blinked every thing that needed electricity just shut off. It took a couple seconds and then it just flickered back on. I’m usually not scared of things like this but it was late and dark. let’s just say I never want to stay in a hotel ever again.

    If you want, check out my blog
    link:https://goo.gl/SVUoi8

    Sincerely,
    Zoe H

  10. Dear Caleb
    I had an experience just like you once. I had visited the Philippines and I stayed at a hotel next a beach. Now you may be thinking that the hotel I went to was a 5 star hotel. The thing is it was really like a 3 star hotel. In the room I stayed in had 1 t.v. with 1 channel. The beds smelled weird and there was no wifi. The only fun a part about the hotel was I got to go the beach every single day and catch crabs. I hoped you liked my story. Here is a link to my blog if you want to check it out https://goo.gl/H8mxzb
    Sincerely
    Joscef

    • yeah, I guess I am really lucky, but try to convince your parents to travel! Travel really is a great experience that can broaden your perspective on the world and its wonders.

    • 23 countries in total! I can’t tell you all about it now, so if you’d like to know more, the link to my travel blog is on my “About Me” page!

  11. Dear Caleb
    I was wondering what your parents thought about it. And also why you put hostle in the story. I have had a trip like that but it was not that bad.
    Thanks Kaleb.L

  12. Hello there! I personally haven’t been to a hotel in my whole life, but I am pretty sure that I don’t want to be in a germ-filled hotel. What would your ideal hotel be?

    • My ideal hotel would be something that is big and comfy. That’s all I want. And wifi! I don’t want anything else. Just something that seems like home!

    • Canada is great. I was born and raised there! And overall, my trip was great! If you’d like to know more, the link to my travel blog is on my “About Me” page!

  13. Dear Caleb,
    I would have never survived that hotel room. It would be a total nightmare. I read your blog and found interesting. Did you like your trip to Egypt? I think Egypt is kind of interesting, even though I’ve only seen pictures of Egypt, and have never gone there.

  14. Hello Caleb,
    I’ve gone on several trips and stayed in a lot of hotels and I know bad from good. Have you ever gone to Los Angeles they have lots of great hotels to stay in, one time I went to Disneyland and my hotel had lots of things there for example they had a spa, workout room, and etc. Have you ever had any other bad experiences? i now I have and you can read about it in my blog here is the link:https://kidblog.org/portfolio/d66w2r017uc4ftyab6wkgloeg/posts
    Sincerely R’eonna

    • Yes, I had a lot of odd and “interesting” experiences. One of which was Dizzy World in India. If you’d like to know more, the link to my travel blog is on my “About Me” page!

  15. Dear Caleb

    One funny but bad trips was to mexico.So we started the story off at my dads house in mexico after a 4 day car ride to mexico.We got into the house(I was 4 so maybe things changed) but we got into the house and there was lizards all over the floor because of how long we hadn’t gone.We had to clean everything but it was 2 in the morning.So that was the bad part but it is a little funny because of how many lizard were on the floor.
    That was the bad part of the trip but the best was wonderful.
    Please visit my blog at goo.gl/YnkywK
    thank you

    Sincerely
    EdwardG

  16. Whoa! How did you survive? And how is that company still in business? You said you visited Egypt right? Lucky! I want to see Egyptian tombs when I am a little older. How did you fall asleep! I would have stayed awake all night and then it would drive me crazy! Finally I bet I would tell the owner this is ridiculous and I am leaving! Do you have any siblings? If so how did they react? What other places do you want to visit? I really liked your blog and thanks so much for sharing your interesting story! Also check out my blog! http://elianadgms24.edublogs.org/

    • Hey Eliana, Wow, you have a lot of questions. To be honest, if I told you all about my experiences now, it would take forever! What I can say is yes, I have a brother, and he was just as shocked as I was. If you’d like to know more, the link to my travel blog is on my “About Me” page!

  17. Dear Caleb,
    Hi! I am Abbie S. I really liked your blog post. It is really interesting to hear about where you’ve gone. Oh, and by the way come visit my blog post!
    Here’s the link:
    goo.gl/qwbLBVcontent_copyCopy short URL

    Sincerely,
    Abbie

    • To be honest, the worst part was that the locals were surprised that we were brave enough to stay there! When the locals are scared for your safety, you can tell something’s up!

  18. Hi Caleb my name is Ryan the place you stayed in sounded horrible, I don’t think I could last a day in that place. Did you guys ever find out what made that mold?

    I have a funny story to tell you. Me and my family went on vacation in Florida and we went to a water park. I went on the diving bored a few times and on my last time I saw a kid do a back flip so I tried. I hit my back flat in the water and had a red mark on my back for the rest of the day.

  19. Um, first of all, wow. That was some quality. A story that I have that I think i funny is when I was at the beach. I was in the water and this like, waist high wave hit me hard in the stomach and pulled me under. When I got up I heard somebody yell shark followed by heavy splashing beside me. I looked beside me there was a shark fin one foot away from me. When I saw that I just ran. On the beach when I looked back I saw two shark fins sticking out of the water thrashing around where I was just standing moments before. They were there for three hours straight. When I got a bird’s eye view from my balcony, there were two shadows of tiger sharks each seven and eight feet long.

    My Blog: https://cartersgms24.edublogs.org

    Thanks For Listening,
    Carter

    • Hey Tyler, thanks for the comment! On a scale of 1 to 10 for fear, i was about 6. If you’d like to know more, the link to my travel blog is on my “About Me” page!

  20. It was a great story. I was intrigued the whole time. Do you think your parents knew it was like that before? I love how you gave so much detail about everything. I would tell you if there was some mistakes but there is not! I loved your blog. Come and cheek out my blogs at https://roisinbgms24.edublogs.org

    • My parents knew that this was a very “interesting” experience, but I think they knew we would laugh about it later! Thanks as well! I’m glad to hear you enjoyed it! If you’d like to know more, the link to my travel blog is on my “About Me” page!

    • My trip to Egypt was quite good. Yes, there were some exceptions, but overall it was good. If I described my experiences now, it would take forever, so if you’d like to know more, the link to my travel blog is on my “About Me” page!

  21. Hey Caleb i like to travel although I haven`t been far. I have been to Tennessee,Ohio,Indiana, and Florida. I have never actually been out of the United States Of America. Whats your top three places you ever traveled?

    • I get that question a lot, but it is always difficult to answer! I’d have to say, Australia, then Tanzania, and Galapagos. If you’d like to know more, the link to my travel blog is on my “About Me” page!

    • We did visit the Great Pyramids plus the red pyramid and the bent pyramid. One of my earlier posts was “Secrets of the Pyramids” and it was inspired by my experiences there. If you’d like to know more, the link to my travel blog is on my “About Me” page!

  22. Dear Caleb,
    I’ve been in many places that I would consider quite messy and dirty, but after reading this, clearly you’ve been in much worse. By the way, when you visited Egypt did you get to see any of the pyramids? Also, to be able to visit 23 countries, that is just insane, considering the fact that I haven’t even been to a different country besides the one that I was born in. Thanks!

    Sincerely Noah

    My blog site:
    http://noahlgms24.edublogs.org/

    • Yes, Noah, we did visit the Great Pyramids plus the red pyramid and the bent pyramid. One of my earlier posts was “Secrets of the Pyramids” and it was inspired by my experiences there. If you’d like to know more, the link to my travel blog is on my “About Me” page!

    • To be honest, the worst part was that the locals were surprised that we were brave enough to stay there! When the locals are scared for your safety, you can tell something’s up!

  23. I like how you are replying to the other bloggers. It really makes you feel nice.
    Anyway, Did the hostel really have missing floorboards? That would have been crazy. I am scared of heights, so I couldn’t have done the elevator. Do you go to a private school? I wonder, did it cost a lot for the trips?

    Here is my blog “URL”
    http://bradenpgms24.edublogs.org/

    • I like to reply to other bloggers cause I like to know what people are up to. And it wasn’t that there were floorboards missing. The boards were far apart and there were cracks in the floor so I could actually see through. Also, we had to be on a very tight budget for the trip! My parents did something called a 4 over 5 so that the school paid us as we traveled, but we still had to be careful about our spendings!

      • Hey Caleb,
        I have an experience that was painful but now is funny. Earlier this year, our grade went to Heifer Global Village, a place in Maryland that simulates what it is like to be in a developing nation. My friends and I were picked to be in Lower Mozambique, the poorest and most painful part of the village. We started out with a small cup of rice, but after we were the first to get a fire going, we taxed people to cook at our fire. We adopted a refugee, and he “cooked” for us. Instead, his idea of cooking was heaping everything in a pot and cooking it for 5 minutes! It was the most disgusting thing imaginable. In our 8×8 foot hut with no beds and 12 people, we got locked in, told stories the entire night, and someone peed out the window. By the next morning, we were all either sick or dehydrated. Reflecting on the stories and fun we had, it all turned out to be really funny.
        Best Wishes,
        Cooper
        Check out my blog at http://ctruf.edublogs.org/

  24. Wow ,
    That sounds scary! I can see why it’s funny to you now. I’ve been to a couple places like that and I do not want to go back. I can’t wait to hear another one of your stories!
    -Quincy

  25. Wow, Caleb, that’s so cool! I don’t think I could spend my seventh-grade year traveling the world. I like to be more of a local person. Would you ever go back there?

    • I probably wouldn’t go back to Egypt, because there are so many other places to see in the world. And I would definitely not go back to the hostel because, well, you know why!

  26. Hi Caleb,
    What a amazing story! Before I read your story, I thought this kind thing will only happen in horror movies! And it was a really wonderful experience for you to travel around the world.

  27. Hey Caleb,
    I’ve never been in such a hotel, and I think I’ll never go to one. My parents like comfort, and we always get a nice hotel when we travel. I’ve been to many countries around the world, and my mom was considering taking a year to travel around the world. It’s been a long time, and it might not be able to happen, but I’d like to have your opinion. Do you think that this is worth missing school for a year? I would really love to hear your answer.
    >My blog: http://21trispislit.edublogs.org/

    -Tristan

    • Absolutely go travel! Travel is a way to open your eyes and broaden your perspective on the world! The world is like a puzzle. Those who do not travel only see one piece.

  28. I really love this blog post, it has great grammar, and good sentence structure. I, personally think that the hostel seems terrible and certainly would be a unique experience to be in a place like that for a night or two. One question that I do have, is how many places did you travel to in 7th grade?

  29. Dear Caleb,

    I know that every one has those days, but I don’t know if I have had that experience. I know that things that were not funny back then, are pretty funny know. What do you think your worst day was ever?

    • Good question! Worst day was probably when I was in China and got lost at the Terricota Warriors. My parents say I wasn’t gone for too long but to me, it felt like forever!

  30. Hi Caleb, great job on your post! I liked how you used lots of description. One of my weirdest experiences was when I got on the wrong bus! It was actually a bus to the k-2 school, but I’m in 5th grade! So the bus driver yelled at me to get off, but for some reason I thought he was yelling at someone else, so I climbed on farther. Then he yelled “Get off my bus!” so I got off and then my bus came. In case your interested in seeing my blog, here is the link:
    http://techkidallisonp.edublogs.org/

  31. Hi Caleb! I could never imagine being in that situation. I do not think that I could ever temporarily stay a building such as that one. I am somewhat germaphobic, so there is no way that I could stay in a place with mold. The worst building that I have ever stayed in was a hotel, where I had to share a bed and room with my brother (if you cannot tell, I am not very fond of him). So, since you spent your 7th grade year travelling around the world, do you have any other funny stories to tell? Some of my classmates have some pretty funny stories to share as well. You can check out our blog at: http://mcdowellmedia.edublogs.org/.

    • I’ll be sure to check out your blog! Also, I do have quite a few “odd” experiences and if you want to read about them, the link to my travel blog is on my “About Me” page!

  32. dear Caleb,

    Your blog is very funny yet serious I think that many blogs dont have any features that cool.Why did you make your background like that? was there a reason or did you just like it?

  33. Hey Caleb,
    I really liked your post because you used descriptive words. A weird moment for me was when my mom forgot me when I had to go to school. I didn’t know what was going on. I asked my dad, “Does this mean I don’t have to go to school?” I was kind of disappointed when my dad said, “Don’t worry. Your mom will come back for you.” Sure enough, my mom’s car came into the driveway, and I got in, and we went off to school. If you want to check out one of my posts, then here is a URL: http://hmsla2020.edublogs.org/2017/11/01/halloween-superstitions/.
    That is, if you like Halloween Superstitions.

  34. Hey Caleb,

    Loved your story! The way you describe it engages the audience very well. I also had some rather… interesting experiences with hotels in foreign countries. I went to Egypt as well but I have mostly good memories of it. Despite this terrible memory, would you still go back to Egypt?

    Lois

  35. Going to Egypt sounds awesome! I love the detail you had on the part about the bathroom and the holes in the floor under the rug. The details really help with imagining what the hotel would be like. The only other country l’ve been to bedsides the U.S.A is Canada. Just curious why were you traveling around so much?

    • I was traveling because during my grade seven year, I left school and traveled around the world! My parents thought I would learn just as much from traveling as I would from school!

  36. Dear Caleb,
    First things first, Wow. Just, wow. You had to go through an experience like that? That’s really scary. Not only that but also difficult. I mean, the mold, the bathroom, the elevator, etc. I just want to say, man, that’s kinda funny, but amazing.

    Now then, here’s my experience. So, in elementary school, we had an activity at school. We had to work out a lot, and they kept pushing us. The thing is, we had multiple stations, and I just got lost. The funniest thing (to me, that is) is that I just fell down. Yeah. That’s it. I fell down. I don’t know why, but that’s just funny to me now. Well, if you’d like, here’s my blog: http://hmsjustinm.edublogs.org/, and keep up the good posts.

    Sincerely,
    hmsjustinm

  37. Hey Caleb,
    I probably would not have been able to stay there! That seems really scary. I’d rather take the stairs than the elevator. I would probably leave the instant I got there!

  38. Hello!

    Woah! That really happened? How did you feel when going up the elevator? I love traveling, so this was a really enjoyable post. Also, how did you get a ruler? ☉_☉ Anyways, I loved this post! Goodbye and have a nice day/evening!

    Regards,
    Hmsskye

    • Nice to hear from another traveler! To be honest, going up the elevator seemed like the last thing I was going to do, because we were only being supported by one cable! And the part about the ruler was just an exaggeration to emphisize how small the bathroom was. I didn’t have a ruler but I’m not kidding when I say it was only about a meter wide!

  39. Hello Caleb,
    That hotel sounded pretty bad! I would absolutely NOT be able to stay in that hotel for even one night. Anyway, I loved your post. It had nice description and made me feel like I was there with you. Perhaps you could check out my blog post at McDowell Meda and leave a comment? It is the one about our school’s band. Again, great article!

  40. Caleb, I would probably scream if I had mold on my pillows!
    “I demand to speak to the manager!” I’d yell. It’s amazing that you travel a lot for your age, I barely leave my house! Do you think you’ll be more cautious choosing your motels/hotels now?
    Goodbye,
    Jennifer

  41. Hey Caleb!

    What a great blog. Your detail really helped me imagine the nastiness of that hotel. A crazy story I have is one time I was at a beach in South Carolina, and my friends and I swam out pretty deep. We looked up and saw two fins, each about 6 inches away from us. They had just popped up out of the water. We began to swim for our lives, and at I think I swam faster than Michael Phelps. When we got to shore, I found that they were only dolphins. The funniest part about it, my mom had told us before we went out not to get eaten by a shark!

    you can find my blog here: http://caund.edublogs.org/

  42. Hello Caleb,
    That sounds crazy! I have been on a bus that was going to Atlanta for volleyball, and we were right next to the bridge that burned down! We almost got on it! It was so scary, but it is really funny to think about now!
    Thanks,
    Brynn

    Go visit my blog: http://bccov.edublogs.org/

  43. Hey Caleb, I have had an experience that was terrible but is now funny. We were going on a field-trip to Maryland, and we were going to stay at Heifer village. One part of it was staying in a global village, or a village that had houses from around the world. It was supposed to give you an experience of poverty. I wasn’t too excited when I figured out that I was sleeping in the poorest house (Mozambique Hut). When it came time to sleep one of the two huts had mice and spiders in them, so we had to cram 12 kids in a hut that had a diameter of about 8 feet. Because of that while you were sleeping you had about 8 feet on top of you. It was very tight and if you moved, you would either kick someone or get a foot in your face.nd sadly for me I picked the one spot that had the rock under it so my back hurt when I woke up. Now when I look back on the experience I think that it was funny

  44. Dear Caleb,

    That sounds scary! I have always wondered about going to Egypt, but now I am having second thoughts. Did you see the pyramids at Giza or the Sphinx? Also, If you divide the Great Pyramid at Giza’s perimeter by 2 times its height, you get pi to the fifteenth digit?

    K.I.T,
    Julien

  45. Hi Caleb,
    Your post was descriptive and fun to read! I wouldn’t want to stay in the hostel you stayed in, I don’t like mold! Did you like to travel during 7th grade? The only time I’ve gone out of the U.S.A was when I went to Canada. Why did you go to Egypt?
    Check out my blog!
    http://techkidisabella.edublogs.org/

    Sincerely,
    Isabella

  46. Wow your living conditions sound awful but that’s so cool that you get to travel around the world and visit new environments and places. I wish I got to travel more. My favorite place I have ever traveled to was Turks and Caicos. Its a beautiful island with clear blue waters. If you ever get the chance to go there have fun! One of my funniest moments of living situations was last summer when I went to an overnight soccer camp and at a nearby college. My friend and I along with the rest of the other girls stayed in the worst dorms. They were so small and it was a sweet so there were 8 girls and one bathroom with one shower and one toilet. Luckily I got an early shower both times so I had hot water but I can only imagine how cold the last person was. Well that’s my story hope you enjoyed! Come visit my blog http://sfmil.edublogs.org/

  47. Hello Caleb,
    Wow! This was an amazing post. I enjoyed hearing about you travel to Egypt. If I were to spend the night in that hostel then I would have been really nervous to fall through the floor too. I think that it is amazing that you spent your 7th grade year traveling. Do you know where you want to go in the future? Where have you already been. Thank you for sharing about you interesting adventure! Come and visit my blog at http://cemil92d.edublogs.org/ and learn about my school! Let me know if you school is the same or different from mine.

    From,
    Caleigh

  48. Hey Caleb! I’ve also had some embarrassing moments while traveling, not in a hotel though. I was in Paris, France, and we went into an alley, where a bunch of stores/restaurants along. We entered a crepe restaurant, and I was starving so I had a lot. I went into a bathroom, and the doors to it were like an entrance to a saloon in a cowboy story. So I opened it in there was a tiny, tiny step, like just as a few quarters stacked on top of each other. Then tripped on the step, the sink was right there and the toilet was down a hall. I hit my eye on the sink and had to get stitches. So now I can say I got stitches in a foreign country in a crepe restaurant.

  49. Hi Caleb
    Your trip to Egypt sounds really scary but fun. was it fun? I have never been to Egypt before but I have wanted too. When I get to 7 grade I hope I get to travel to different places.

  50. That must of been really scary. I have only had one experience of a bad motel/hotel. The stairs in your picture look really cool. Have you had any other bad motel/hotel experiences.

  51. I would have never slept in that hotel. I would have stayed awake all night just so I won’t have to sleep there. I have no idea how you managed to sleep there, but I wouldn’t have been able to!

  52. Caleb,

    I think that it is awesome that you travel, even if the conditions aren’t always the best. I love your background on your blog with the cards. I would have been mortified at the idea of falling through the floor and I would have asked to sleep in the car. It was awesome and brave to do that though.

    Lucas

  53. Caleb,
    That sounds awful! I would hate being in those types conditions, crammed in a tiny room, and having the smallest bathroom I could imagine! I can’t remember an experience like that where I had those conditions, but I can definitely imagine. I will definitely be back to view your other posts. Here is my blog just in case you would like to take a peek. http://jahor92d.edublogs.org/
    From, Joshua

  54. Hi Caleb,
    I really liked your post. I too love traveling and I have stayed in a fair share of strange hotels but, nothing like this! I liked how you looked back on it in a funny way. I kind of want to go now and see this hotel in person! Great job, I will definitely come back to your page and read more blog posts because they’re very funny! Thanks for sharing this story, it made me laugh.
    It seems like you travel a lot. Where is your favorite that you’ve been? Also, how long were you in Egypt? Come check out my blog at http://crsch92d.edublogs.org/ Thanks! Keep up the great posts!

  55. Hi Caleb!
    Wow, that sounds like a memorable experience! I’m glad you lived to tell the tale. I would have been scared out of my mind by that elevator, my biggest nightmare is being stuck in an elevator! I would love to know where else you have traveled. I have had many bad yet funny experiences myself. One time my good friend and I went to go see a fun movie, only to find out it was a horror movie. We had no idea! We went into the theater and then we thought to ourselves, we should just call my mom to pick us up, only to our surprise our phones were dead. We searched the entire movie for a power source. It was a nightmare, we were basically stranded in the movie theater watching a horror movie.

  56. Hey Caleb!
    Omg, that sounds so sketchy! I’m glad you shared it with us.
    ]]]]]]]
    One time, my school went on a field trip, and there was a lake with canoes. I got in one with two of my friends, and I was in the back btw. A new counselor, who was not experienced with pushing canoes off the beach. She tried to push us off, but it completely tipped upside down. Since we had backed out, I was the farthest out. So I went completely under the water, and I had to swim to get to the shore. I was not in a bathing suit, so I had to stay in wet clothes and shoes until we got back home. It felt awful at the time, but now as I remember it, I literally start cracking up!
    Well, please look at my blog! http://wbcar92d.edublogs.org/
    Sincerely,
    Whitney

  57. Heyo Caleb,

    Great, story! I had a similar story in 7th grade.

    We went on a field trip to a place called heifer spring somewhere in Maryland. We spent a total of two nights and three days there. the first night we slept in a nice cabin with other people there too. But the second night was horrible. we were separated into different groups with different cabins at an old village. our group got a small old cabin infested with spiders, and we also had a mouse problem too. there weren’t enough bunk beds so we had to have two people in one bunk which were uncomfortable, and two people slept on a table. one time I woke up in the middle of the night with a huge cricket next to my friend’s face and woke him up so he won’t have a cricket crawling on him.
    the point of the field trip was to experience what people with little homes feel like, and overall I think it was a pretty good simulator.

    check out my blog:http://jwbai92d.edublogs.org/

  58. Hi Caleb,
    My name is Hannah. I have had many embarrassing but funny moments in my life. One of my most embarrassing moments was when I was in kindergarten and I was partnered up with a kid named Kyle. We were trying to read a story, I had to tinkle. I was terrified to use the bathrooms inside of our classroom, I was scared of people hearing me pee, so I went pee inside my pants it was all over the carpet and when the teacher came over and asked what happened I told her that Kyle did it. She ended up finding out it was me so I had to go to the lost and found and wear a not so attractive outfit. hahaha, help that was a pretty bad day. If you get a chance go check out my blog. http://hgols.edublogs.org/

    Thanks,
    Hannah

  59. Hi Caleb,
    I have always wanted to go to Egypt, but now that I have read your blog I want to go to Egypt even more, actually. I just love creepy things! I also read in one of your comments that you have visited 23 countries and that you have been out of the continent. I live in the USA, and I have never been out of the continent. I have only been out of US territory once, and that was this year on a trip to the Bahamas.

    But my story is that one of my family friends used to live on a farm. Right behind their field were they let the horses graze was a giant pond of pure mud. I was about ten years old with my older sister, younger brother, and the twelve year old whose mom owned the farm. I am completely honest when I say that I had no idea we were not allowed in the pond. So, we decided to make fishing rods by tying a pinecone to a twig. I, being the only one who hasn’t ever been to the house, of course stepped in the mud with my friend’s 50 dollar (37.89 pounds/ 42.48 euros) shoes on. I did not expect to have her shoe sink into the mud, then fall off my foot (it was a bigger shoe size, though). So my friend tried to get the shoe out of the mud, and she got stuck and lost both of her shoes. Then my sister tried to grab it and then she fell into the mud and lost her shoe. Meanwhile, while all of this chaos s happening, my brother is sitting ontop of the hill, telling us that we were going to get in trouble. What happened when we got back to the barn? We got in a whole lot of trouble. We still remember it to this day, and whenever our friends come over to our house we all laugh at it.
    Anyway, I hope you enjoyed my story!
    A couple of questions—
    What had been your favorite country to visit so far?
    Have you ever been to the Bahamas?
    And please check out my blog: http://sxwie.edublogs.org/
    Thank you!
    -Sarah W.

  60. Hey,
    Hi, I’m Logan, I think this a pretty strange. I have always heard or seen these cliche bad hotels on TV, but for some reason, I never thought a real hotel could survive if it were that bad. I don’t know how you survived in this hotel, but anyway, if I were in that situation I would have run like hell and never turned back.

    From,
    Logan
    Check out my blog if you ever get bored: http://maneaclolo808.edublogs.org/

  61. I had a terrifying experience too! But now its funny to think about. I remember that I was with my friends and we were climbing a tree and we got told to come down and thats when one of my friends got out of the tree saying, Im free! It was funny but still a little scary. What was your worst experience?
    Visit my site at, http://brandonkgms24.edublogs.org/

  62. Hey Caleb,
    That was a very cool story, although I must admit it would have been a little creepy for me. I would have thought about health issues (you know, mold, or maybe falling 3 stories or something). I would not have had the courage to stay there for one night or more! That is crazy! I can’t really think of any time I would have had a scary now funny moment. Check out my blog: http://wcbur92d.edublogs.org/

  63. What’s good Caleb?
    I love your blog, and this post is NO exception. I loved the humor of it, and am intrigued by the utter crappiness of this “hotel”. Seems like a great place lol ;-D do you know the name? I am looking forward to future posts.

    Visit my blog at
    http://kmmon.edublogs.org/

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *